Rebellion Shield Winners 2021

Trentham Bowls Club held their annual members pairs competition on 13th June 2021.  This year, following sponsorship from Rebellion Brewery, it was renamed ‘The Rebellion Pairs’ competition.

This event was a wonderful success, and a fantastic afternoon was had by all. Not only was the weather gorgeous, (although a tad too hot for some) but the two barrels of beer supplied by the Rebellion Brewery went down very well with players and spectators alike.

These events cannot go ahead without planning and commitment from members of the club. This year we are delighted to say that the competition was expertly run by George Foster who not only ensured we all knew what to do but that we all had the opportunity to play each other on our wonderful green. We would therefore like to say a massive thank you to George, also special thanks for their efforts and hard work must also go to Keith for his involvement/liaison with Rebellion Brewery, to Margaret for running the Bar, to Rod for spinning the rink at half time, and Ray for all his efforts tidying up at the end (and he wasn’t even playing!) and of course Shirley for running the unscheduled last-minute raffle.

This year’s inaugural Rebellion Pairs competition was of a new format that we hadn’t played before at Trentham, and once all the players had completed the first phase of games, a round robin with each pair playing 6 games of 4 ends, the two highest winning rinks went on to compete against each other in the Grand Final.  Our Clubhouse offers a wonderful view of the playing area, so we were all able to cheer and encourage the players throughout the competition, and especially in the final.

The Grand Final was a very close and exciting game, all square after the penultimate end, with Jim Bampton and Kim Uzzel narrowly beating Rick Hough and Denis Raywood 6 to 5 after the dramatic last end.

Rebellion Shield Winners 2021
Our Club President Mr Brian Heath kindly presenting the Rebellion Shield trophy to the 2021 winners Jim Bampton and Kim Uzzell.  Congratulations to this year’s winners.

Captain Shirley

President Brian

© 2021, admin. All rights reserved.